Discuss both advantages and disadvantages of being part of a large family in the past and give your opinion.

In the past, extended families were once a topic of interest. It is believed that living in a large family, which included many offspring and was once prevalent in many countries, brought benefits and drawbacks simultaneously. From my perspective, the negative side of this phenomenon can be outweighed by its merits due to the benefits it provides. On the one hand, juniors surrounded by siblings were likely to be equipped with essential skills. Apparently, cooperation and communication abilities were provided more opportunities to be promoted among children via their interactions while they were working, studying or playing with one another, thereby giving them chances to better themselves and even to become thriving in their own later lives, apart from mere joy. Therefore, it is necessary to recognise the benefits of living with an extended family. A telling example is that a teenager living with brothers and sisters could be more confident at school when compared with an only child due to regular association within the family. On the other hand, the financial burden, which was one of the prominent disadvantages, should be acknowledged. Undoubtedly, a larger family was synonymous with a need for greater monetary capacity; because of that, parents, as the breadwinners, had to spend more time toiling in order to be able to cover all expenses of the family, especially those related to the wholesomeness and decent education of their children, and less time caring for the offspring themselves, which inflicted detrimental effects on their mental well-being and even subsequent developments. Thus, being aware of the potential drawbacks of a huge family is crucial. For instance, juveniles who did not receive enough care from their busy parents were more susceptible to mental issues, especially depression and resentment. In conclusion, this phenomenon possessed both merits and shortcomings. In my opinion, its demerits were eclipsed by its merits since the members of a family could support each other to overcome problems as well as enhance the bonds among members to be ready for any incoming challenges.