Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With regard to communication, some opine that speaking has more power than writing. The this statement might be based on the instant impacts that a spoken speech could have on the audience. However, I believe that the influences of writing as a means of communication are far more effective since they can encourage readers’ reflections and have stronger legal values. Some people might perceive speaking as a potent form of communication as it has instantaneous effects on the listeners. It is basically true because body language and facial expressions can be utilized as an effective tool to reinforce the connection with the audience. For example, simple body movements like head shaking or nodding can speak volumes about the opinions of the speakers. In addition, when delivering a speech, the speakers can also get immediate response from listeners and therefore be able to adjust their next ideas. For instance, a politician delivering a campaign speech can easily notice the reaction of the crowd. Hence, in case he/she senses any disapprovement, the speech can be amended to avoid provoking resentment and outrage among people. Despite the aforementioned reasons, I am still in favor of written communication since it is far more powerful in many situations. First, it is more convenient for readers to re-read written works, and thanks to that, they are able to understand the intention of the writters that they might overlook in the first time. Also, different readers can interpret the words in different ways. In other words, it motivates them to unleash their imagination and dig deeper through the surface of texts. Moreover, written documents can be used as legal evidence, which is hardly possible for verbal communication to do. For example, according to the enterprise law of Vietnam, only if a business transaction is recorded in a written form, can it be considered proof in court in case of a dispute. In conclusion, I concede that a spoken speech has strong effects on the audience at the moment it is delivered as well as enables immediate amendment from speakers. I still maintain my position that a piece of writing can have far stronger impacts since it allows diverse and in-depth interpretation and has legal power that cannot be achieve with in spoken forms.