Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people may believe that speaking is a more powerful form of communication (1) than writing. Personally, I think that both methods are highly effective, however it simply depends upon the specific circumstance as to which is the most appropriate at the time. On the one hand, speaking is an extremely effective and efficient mode of communication (2) in certain contexts. Oral communication enables people to connect with their listeners on an emotional level(3). The tone of someone’s voice can powerfully convey a wide range of emotions, and that is why some people are able to inspire and influence others(4) simply through a powerful speech, a song, or a poem. Secondly, misunderstandings(5) can also be easily prevented when people interact face to face. For example, if one person is confused about what the other is saying, he can immediately ask for further explanation to ensure that the information being exchanged is completely understood. On the other hand, writing can also be an effective tool in everyday communication. In the workplace, written messages, emails, and documents are effective tools, while speech may sometimes be ignored or interpreted in different ways, written forms are usually stated very clearly. Employees can therefore reread documents repeatedly to avoid miscommunication(6). Additionally, written documents are usually required in legal matters(7). This is the reason why many important documents, including memos, reports, job descriptions and e-mails, are usually kept in written form. In conclusion, both spoken and written modes of communication have their own purposes, benefits and drawbacks, and people have to carefully consider which modes to apply in each specific situation.