Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish.

Some argues that people with certain occupations, like doctors and engineers, must have their career in the same country where they studied. While others argue that graduates should be given more choices to work anywhere they want. I agree with the former idea as it allows professionals to adapt more easily on certain competencies and challenges. Those who start their professional career in the same region often find it easier in applying knowledge they gained in the school since universities often establish a specific curriculum which may be different across nations. They also teach students on more relevant issues so they can better address challenges in local-appropriate approach in real life. For example, medical students in Southeast Asia often find dengue fever as a common disease in the region. Meanwhile, those in Europe often face patients with vitamin D deficiencies. In addition, engineering students in Japan are trained to build earthquake-resilient buildings, contrasting with those studying in the tsunami-prone regions. These clearly show that local trainings can effectively address local-specific needs. In the other side, graduates tend to come back to their home country after studying abroad or encouraged to move as diaspora. However, those people often face difficulties in starting their jobs as they have not familiarized themselves with country-specific contexts and often required to take extra tests. For instance, Indonesia obligates some foreign university graduate, specifically from medical and engineering fields, to pass local exams before they can practice their career. Such process can cause stresses and delays. To conclude, I believe staying in the same country after graduate is more beneficial. This way, ones can easily leverage what they studied in college as they are familiar with certain matters and address local-specific challenges.