Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in classrooms. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The Internet development enables numerous educational institutions to offer online courses for students to gain a degree. In my own opinion, I tend to support such progress, just like supporting the industrial revolution, although there may be some demerits of this way: hard concentration and lack of social activities. There are a couple of merits of E-lecture. Firstly, it is convenient both for students and teachers. Anywhere available on the Internet, educators can give lectures to their pupils on their cellphones, laptop or pad. Therefore, there is no doubt that this will reduce the commuting time from home to classrooms. Secondly, online classes can promote equality of education resources. Due to the excellent physical and spiritual environment, large cities, like Beijing and Shanghai, have attracted an increasing number of mentors from distinguished universities and the education gap between poor and rich areas has been extended day by day. E-lectures enable students from rural areas to gain same teaching resources. For instance, mentees in community colleges in the USA can also take public courses at world-famous universities, such as Harvard and MIT. On the other hand, distance classes may make it difficult for pupils to focus on the content and improve the ability to teamwork. Compared to traditional face-to-face courses, those who have online qualifications, may be easy to be distracted as there is no monitoring from teachers and peers and they may open other social media, such as Tiktok, Youtube or Facebook. Moreover, n this virtual class, there are no classmates that they can converse and it is hard to carry out projects, such as group discussions, that need cooperation, which is extremely vital in late work. In conclusion, E-leaning can not only bring convenience to us but also promote social equality although there may be some disadvantages. However, if mentees can be self-motivated and disciplined and take part in other teamwork after classes, online education still is a fantastic tool for us.