Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since obesity has risen among adults and children, many people have raised their concerns about the high use of sugar. As a result, some people claim that sugary products should raise their prices in order to reduce consumption. However, I partly disagree with this view as I think education may be more effective. To begin with, the intention of purchasing sweetness may reduce if sugar products are more expensive. Since sugar is a fundamental material for many foods and drinks, firms may have to increase their prices in order to maintain profit. For example, the price of each cake may increase by £2 owing to the high cost of raw materials. Therefore, consumers may be less willing to spend their money on sweetness which may lower the chances of getting health problems. On the other hand, educating the public may solve the roots of the issue. As certain citizens may not understand the undesirable effects brought by injecting too much sugar, providing access to correct knowledge may encourage them to change their habits. For example, people may force themselves to consume less sugar once they know that heart attack is related to obesity. Therefore, by giving them the knowledge, the public may choose not to take high- sugar products even if they are rich. In conclusion, although raising the price may reduce the intention of buying sugary products, it may not be effective for those who are wealthy. However, educating the citizens may be more beneficial since it can change their habits.