TOO MANY OLD HISTORIC BUILDINGS ARE IN DANGER AND DESTROYED IN MANY COUNTRIES. WHAT ARE THE MAIN REASON? HOW TO PROTECT THEM?

In most countries, historical monuments are protected and maintained by government institutions. There are special departments and funds allocated for the preservation of historical sites. But due to religious, and economical reasons in some countries, these buildings are either on the verge of collapse or destroyed in the name of politics. The government and the people need to step up and make sure these are protected. Although religion plays an important role in protecting historical sites, it can be detrimental to the destruction of other religions' history. For Instance, in Afghanistan, an old temple was destroyed because some extremists believed that their religion forbids buildings. Educated religious leaders should come up and talk to people about the importance of these statues. Politicians, who are responsible for protecting these monuments, use the destruction of these historical monuments to increase their vote bank. In the United States, for example, a statue of a historical figure was destroyed last year because one of the ministers told his followers that the statue was built on the shoulders of the slaves. Voters should not blindly follow these figures, but ask them about the solution to these problems. In most underdeveloped countries, which are ruled by a corrupt elite, there are no maintenance and protection funds for the historical places. Most of the funds given by the NGOs and developing nations, go to these politicians. In Pakistan, the minister of history and museums was arrested because he had spent most of the money on foreign trips and buying expensive jewellery for his wife. Developed nations and NGOs should make sure not to give money to these ministers, and instead spend it there by themselves. In conclusion, different religious, political and economic reasons are responsible for the destruction of historical landmarks. The government and the people of that country should step up to maintain and preserve these historical sites.