Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss and give your opinion

Zoos have long been playing an essential part in education and entertainment. Nevertheless, concerns have been raised about their real value in recent times, as along with their contribution to animal conservation, these places can be cruel. While some people argue in favor of zoos, I personally support those who believe that keeping animals in captivity is inappropriate and should be halted. The principal reason in favor of zoos is perhaps the role they play in conserving animals. The populations of certain animal species, such as panda and tiger, are undergoing a dramatic decline, encouraging us to take necessary steps to prevent their complete disappearance. Only through keeping endangered species in captivity can scientists research their physical behavior, feeding patterns and reproduction. The data gathered from this type of research is then utilized to design a captive breeding program, thus keeping animal populations under strict control until they are totally saved from near-extinct levels. Notwithstanding the argument above, I am of the view that keeping animals in cages is brutal and ought to be stopped. Firstly, when creatures live in captivity, they are unlikely to hunt and have limited space to roam freely, preventing researchers from accurately studying animal behavior. In effect, zoos tend to become places of pure entertainment for children, but of torture for living beings in cages. Secondly and more importantly, caged animals are highly likely to suffer psychologically. For example, upon my visit to a zoo in Philadelphia, the USA, I observed passive monkeys and weak elephants, while in fact the reverse is expected of them. This tends to suggest that there is much more to animal psychology in zoos than meets the human eye and that these places make animals only suffer both physically and psychologically. Although zoos may play a part in preserving some animal species from extinction, I personally believe that they are damaging to animals being kept both physically and psychologically. Therefore, zoos should have no place in this world.