It is important for people to take risks, both in their profeesional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Risks are meaningful for individuals both in their academic parts of life and in their personal lives. I strongly agree that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks. One of the merits of taking risks is that we can be successful by taking some risks in some fields. Scientists cannot run their experiments with 100% sure. For example, we cannot arrive at the moon without taking the risk of failure. They only minimize the risk. However, they cannot get rid of it. An additional benefit is that we will progress in taking risks. There is an old Chinese idiom that failure is the mother of success. Modern technology is built with failures. For instance, Apple company would not be successful if they gave up producing the MacBook. Steve Jobs took a big risk the first time releasing their computer and he failed with no surprise. But he did not give up designing the computer. He learned from his failure. In the end, MacBook became a big hit in the world. Nevertheless, taking risks has some downsides, one of which is that we might lose everything in our lives if we do it and fail. In our personal lives, that might not be very harmful to us. Sometimes we risk not only our lives but also risk the lives of other people. Just last year, there was an accident in the Chinese labour. Four people died in that accident. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate the merits of taking risks. Our technology would not progress fast like these days without the sacrifice of taking risks.