A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, people often judge someone's worth by their social status and material possessions. They tend to ignore other values, such as good personality and honour. I would say I completely agree with this opinion. Thus, I want to explain some reasons from my view. Firstly, people who wear branded clothes and look like a wealthy person are easy to get proper service in some stores. The shop employee tends to become more friendly to whom look modist and rich. For instance, about 2 months ago, there was a trending thread on Twitter. That thread was made by a woman who has experienced bad service in a certain branded store. That woman said that during her time inside the store, the employees always gave her an unpleasant look. She also said, at that time she had been treated differently as her clothes were not as glamorous as other customers' clothes. Secondly, it is believed that good-looking people are the luckiest people in the world as they are more likely can get anything that they want. It can be seen from the number of job vacancies that include the 'having pretty face' or ' having ideal body proportion' as their requirement. For another example, many celebrities are popular because of their physical appearance. Although they may have a bad attitude, they still will have millions of followers and fans who are loyal to them and adore their pretty faces. To sum up, nowadays we are living in a materialistic era, where a person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions, while old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.