Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this present world, the effects of serving imprisonment in the jail is the controversial issues across the world. There is a common belief that the aim of going to prison is punishment, however, another panel of people think that spending rehab is its crucial function. In this essay, I will look at both sides, as well as try to draw some conclusion in the last paragraph. On the one hand, it is true that one of the crucial purpose of being put behind the bars is punishment due to the fact that criminals can face with their repercussions of illegal activities. This is because of the prison environment would create a proper situation to confront with the results of crime as a verdict. There are constant stories about the inmates can be awareness consciously by undergoing difficult prison circumstance, so this will apparently have a positive effect not to perpetrate again. As a consequence, facing with the punishment may be effective to change prisoner’s life. Additionally, the offenders will seemingly feel the compunction in terms of their crimes. Serving imprisonment can deter lawbreakers from committing a criminal activities again because of feelings of regret. For example, according to the statistics of crime wave search websites in Vietnam, prisoners who have been released from imprisonment have more feelings of regret. As a consequence, although offenders would have tough situation in the jail, its environment can lead convicts to feel compunction. On the other hand, rehabilitation behind the bars would cause culprit to launch a new business. Provided that lawbreakers are involved in rehabilitation program, they will apparently learn an innovative skill to break into market, so offenders who are skillful can be advantageous for their community, gain more confidence by being expert. In conclusion, though one of the most important reasons of sentencing offenders to the jail is confronting criminals with their illegal actions, and feeling of regret, rehabilitation can weigh up because of learning a new abilities.