Television is good for you. Discuss advantage and disadvantages of watching television?

Technology has given us various gadgets which make human lives easy. One of the best examples is Television. This essay will explain the main benefit that is entertainment; However, the bad effect on the eyes and the loss of invaluable time depict its negative side. As far as the advantage is concerned, watching the silver screen entertains. People prefer to watch TV since it runs different programs which would enlighten our mood and provides relaxation to our brains. A dance show named Superdancer, for example, contains dance performances which entertain the public while sitting at home. Therefore, it is proved that it is the best source of entertainment. Admittedly, this audio-visual aid is good for humans, but it has disadvantages also that are reduced eye-sight and enhanced valuable time on it. First of all, looking at the screen for constant time would directly affect the human eye as it releases harmful rays. These rays damage the eye muscles and outer layers which results in a decrease in vision and having the correction glasses early at age. As an illustration, the masses, who spend more time watching television have suffered from reduced vision as compared to those, who are watching less, said an eye specialist. Hence, it is clear that this habit has a deleterious effect on physical health. Moreover, the community waste its precious time sitting for hours in front of the TV which would affect their work or studies. Consequently, students' academic performance will be poor. In conclusion, although this audio-visual aid has a particular benefit which is entertainment, nevertheless, effect on the eyes and sheer wastage of time are the major drawbacks of this modern gadget.