In today’s world of digital technology, many people are using eBooks rather than paper material and I think there are various benefits of using online material, but it causes some problems to the libraries.

In today’s advanced world, many industries have shifted from traditional to digital versions. Recently, it is widespread that people have replaced paper books with digital ones. Although this shift has different advantages, it is anticipated to impact negatively on libraries. This essay will discuss the two main factors that cause this trend, as well as the potential excessive effects. With the increasing awareness of the environmental problems caused by cutting forests, people came up with other options, including ebooks. Reading through a digital device can save a lot of trees. Therefore, readers who care about the environment believe that this is a good solution. Besides, the cost of paper books is another factor. Ebooks are cheaper and easier to find, which makes them the best option for readers. For instance, I used to buy books for my courses that cost me my monthly allowance; further, sometimes I could not find the version I required. On the other hand, recently I have been able to find the majority of the materials I want for college on the internet for free. However, one of the expected outcomes of this shift will be the libraries shutting down of business. It is predictable that if the majority of customers buy ebooks instead of buying paper ones, the libraries would not be able to achieve any sales. Take as an example, it is competitive enough for small book stores to keep in business with big companies being a cheaper option sometimes, and now with ebooks in line, their survival is even less. As a result of this, some companies will have to close resulting in people losing their occupations. If the store closes, the workers at that store would lose their jobs. In conclusion, many readers now prefer ebooks over paper ones as a result of the development of technology. Despite the several advantages of this shift, this would potentially impact the book stores and take them out of the workplace.