Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Fossil fuels are the most common types of energy consumed recently, which are unfortunately detrimental to the environment. It is believed that a rise in the price of petrol would be the best solution for the increasing traffic and pollution issues. I perceive that this can be one of the most effective measures, however, there are other helpful methods to solve these issues, too. On one hand, if the price of petrol soars, it will mitigate traffic and pollution problems by making people occasionally choose to stay home and save money instead of getting to a destination. Hence, the less transportation on the road, the less traffic congestion. As a result, the amount of carbon dioxide emissions would reduce afterward, and it would eventually lead to less pollution. On the other hand, the revolutionary use of clean energy in every means of transportation such as cars, motorcycles, and even airplanes is another way to solve these issues. In other words, by using renewable energy in vehicles instead of fossil fuels, the emission of harmful gases would be lessened tremendously. Thus, the environmental issues, especially pollution, would be automatically solved. Also, as the use of petrol vehicles decreases, the traffic jam would be reduced afterward. In conclusion, from my viewpoint, not only increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution issues, but also other ways such as using renewable energy in various modes of transport would be of great help to mitigate the traffic and environmental issues.