Scientists tell us some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that millions of people continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions?

It is true that people tend to ignore the negative consequences of unhealthy lifestyles although experts and researchers have warned them about these problems. There are several reasons why people continue to lead an unhealthy lifestyle, and actions should be taken to tackle this problem. There are several factors contributing to the the problem of living unhealthily. Firstly, people seem to be more ambitious these days, and most of them tend to have a hectic lifestyle, usually working overtime and devoting themselves to their companies. Therefore, these people do not have enough time to take care of themselves; they often resort to fast food on a daily basis instead of preparing a decent meal with enough nutrients. Secondly, because of the development of technology, some people in modern society are likely to spend too much time with electronic devices in their free time. Instead of going outside and doing physical activities, they would choose to stay at home, surf the Internet or play video games, which would lead to a sedentary lifestyle. Some measures need to be implemented to solve the problem of unhealthy habits among people in the modern world. Companies need to take responsibility for the well-being of their staff members, so employers of these organisations should take action to allow workers the opoortunity to adopt a healthier lifestyle. For example, sports events, such as football leagues, should be organised on a yearly basis to encourage employees to stay physically healthy. At the same time, governments also play an important role in improving public health; they need to launch campaigns to raise public awareness of the dangers of unhealthy activities. For example, by making videos and pictures of patients suffering from life-threatening diseases related to living unhealthily, such as cancer and obesity, go viral on the Internet, the authorities can discourage their citizens from having an imbalanced diet every day and encourage them to do physical activities more. In conclusion, people in contemporary society live unhealthily because of their hectic lifestyles and advances in technology, and it is necessary for both companies and the government to take action to deal with this problem.