Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is believed that universities should provide equal opportunities for everyone, no matter what a student's gender is, and avoid gender discrimination in their acceptance. In other words, many expect universities to hold a balance between male and female students in every field. This is a very controversial issue, and I shall hold the opposite opinion. Initially, in my opinion, equality of numbers of students based on their gender in every subject is a fanciful idea, as some areas of work and their related fields of study are not physically or emotionally appropriate for a specific gender. Women, for instance, would naturally show less interest in physically demanding subjects, such as electrical engineering or construction fields. Therefore, although not impossible, it is overwhelming for women to study in such fields. On the other hand, fewer men would enroll in nursing fields, as such subjects emotionally require delicate touches. More importantly, a balanced entrance between males and females in universities should be based on the talent and capability of individuals rather than being gender -biased. To put it in other words, universities train a limited number of qualified candidates, thus university acceptance should be a fair competition. Balancing between male and female students in every field may deprive some talented candidates of opportunities. In conclusion, although many expect universities to accept equal numbers of male and female students in every field of study, I strongly believe university acceptance should be based on talent and expertise, as some subjects are gender -related. If students get accepted because of their knowledge and interest rather than their gender, they will be more encouraged to pursue their future occupations based on their field of study.