some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. others however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed that no matter under what conditions and intentions a crime has happened, for any kind of it, a fixed sentence should exist while some others think any case should be taken under consideration personally. I believe that a fixed penalty should be set, however, since each case has to be analysed individually, there has to be certain flexibility in judgments. firstly, if fixed penalties didn't exist, then it would have been impossible to control citizens. The reason that lies behind this, is that everyone would assume they have the authority to break the law in demanding times based on their personal urgency. Take child abuse as an example, if the punishment wasn't absolute, then parents might have violated their children's rights by disrespecting their privacy or even physically harming them. For these reasons I assume, some penalties have to be unchangeable under any condition or intention the guilty was in. Secondly, I see eye to eye with people who suggest that the motivation and circumstance behind any act of breaking the law should be investigated independently. Sometimes an individual has committed a crime but they neither meant to do it nor did they commit it willingly. Then why do people put themselves in this kind of situation? Because if they wouldn't have taken action, someone's life might have been lost. For instance, there was a medic in Germany who was charged a thousand dollars for illegal speeding up, although the original penalty would have been both being fined and ordered to forfeit the car because he had no choice but to reach his patient, who was on the verge of dying, the judge decided not to charge him entirely. In conclusion, the need to have fixed penalties is clear, because controlling outlaws will be impossible, however, a certain amount of adaptability is vitally important as well for some situations are demanding and life can be saved by breaking the law.