Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that many schools add compulsory community service to their programmes. Most institutions have been adding it but it is not compulsory. I personally completely agree with this initiative because it will bring many valuable skills to students. Doing volunteer work for the community without being paid is important for students because it allows them to learn life skills that are crucial for their life and a bright future and is a rewarding activity compared to leisure ones. Firstly, by doing this voluntary work, they will be able to not only learn how to communicate and collaborate with others but also learn how to manage their time and improve their organizational skills.These skills will be extremely valuable for them when they enter the workforce because nowadays many lines of work require workers to have these skills, so this will help them find jobs more easily. Secondly, if schools do not assign this as mandatory, many students will not be interested in participating. This is because after-school activities no longer exist nowadays, and students just go home after school time and sit in front of the T.V and play online games, which means that they do not use their time wisely. By forcing them to participate in volunteer work, schools help their students spend time in a more meaningful way. Creativity will be strongly boosted if we give them suitable compulsory work after school through interacting and working with charitable or community organizations. This will be not only an asset to their resume but also a big plus in their future employability, as recently recruiters have always looked for candidates who are highly skilled. Personal financial skills will also be gained by participating in charity work as they will learn how hard it is to earn money and know how to spend them in practical and useful ways. Moreover, the crime levels can be reduced in our community because nobody needs to commit crimes to make a living. In addition, if students have meaningful work to do then they will not be bored and doing something silly that affects their surroundings. In conclusion, I think this is a great idea and I also hope school leaders will put these programmes into action shortly.