The main visitors to museums and historical sites are tourists, not local people. What is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to these places?

These days, a vast number of museums and historical attractions seem to experience a lower local people’s attendance rate than the to urists’. Some explanations will be put forward before the solution to deal with this issue. The cause of the massive difference in the number of the two mentioned types of visitors is varied. First of all, most local people have already visited their local’s sites, they have a si gnificant knowledge of their own culture and history. Thus, they have no need to return to these attractions, it’s just a waste of time and money for them. Besides, these sites are no longer visually attractive to the local inhabitants since they have been seeing those for their whole life. On the other hand, people tend to pay a visit to museums which are outside their ne ighborhood, with a view to ge t a comprehensive overview of the traditions in the particular area. Several measures can be taken in order to stimulate the number of locals’ appearance at historical destinations. To begin with, the government should change the public's perception of places considered to be sites for only sightseeing. Events such as weddings, anniversaries and concerts should be allowed to be held in order to attract substantial attention to historical values. Another resolution is that the layouts of museums and historical sites are renovated with more decorations and unique interior designs. Therefore, not only tourists but more local visitors will come. In addition, the authority can promote places by organizing a creativity fair for both artists and residents. To conclude, local destinations are generally more appealing to the newcomers rather than the local inhabitants due to many reasons. To better this, there should be media coverage and some policies on historical spots to encourage local visitors.