Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Due to the rapid development of advanced technology, teenagers seem to be easily indulged in smart gadgets. In my opinion, peer pressure may be the major reason why people are spending a lot of time on their smartphones, this problem may result in negative development. To begin with, youngsters may visit social media sites in order to earn respect from others. Since children’s cognitive developments are immune, they may not have a firm value toward many issues. In this way, it may be easier for teenagers to be accepted by others if they follow others’ behaviours or have certain common topics with their classmates. Therefore, visiting social media sites regularly may allow them to receive the lasted information, which may hopefully prevent them from being isolated by their peers. However, spending lots of time on smart gadgets can bring certain undesirable effects. Firstly, physical health can be threatened once children pay too much attention to their phones. For example, young adults may be indulged in video games and have no interest in doing sports. As a result, the lack of exercise may lower their body strengths which may increase the risk of getting sick. Moreover, the ability to communicate may be impeded once children are used to chatting online instead of having face-to-face interactions. This may reduce their sense of belonging. In conclusion, the young generation may spend hours on their phone as they want to be accepted by their peers, this may be detrimental to their health and communication skills.