Some people dislike changes in their society and in their own lives, and want things to stay the same. Why do some people want things to stay the same? Why should change be regarded as something positive?

It is true that changes are not always welcomed by society and some may show resistance towards alterations in their beliefs. While respecting social norms and values is the supporting backbone of any culture, the ability to adapt to the ever-changing world has always been one of humankind’s strengths and it has always helped us evolve. One reason that some individuals, especially those who subscribe to a more traditional school of thought, may resent alterations, is the fact that they perceive them as a threat to their cultural identity. Additionally, there is a natural tendency towards protecting the status quo from modifications on an instinctive level. Although these could be considered valid innate responses, sticking to old merits can stand in the way of social progression. Furthermore, nature is always evolving and the same goes for human societies. If we desire to grow, we should step out of our comfort zone, that has always been the way forward. We learn more about our universe every_day and our principles in life change accordingly. If you take growing up as an example, you will notice that it is a mentally and physically challenging process, but it results in one’s flourishing in the end. With that being said, cultural modifications better be gradual, pushing any new ideology may result in a backlash. In conclusion, I would argue that while people should not be forced into submission in the face of changes and their skepticism better be respected, social progress and aquiring new innovations are dependent on a society’s ability to embrace advancements.