Write about the following topic: Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem Write at least 250 words.

Plastic products are a substantial cause of pollution in our environment. Be it air, soil or water, the traces of this non-biodegradable substance can be found everywhere and therefore, has detrimental effects on every organism living on earth. Not only it is the duty of governments to curb this menace but every individual should put efforts into limiting the use of plastics. Because the plastic waste can not be decomposed easily, it ends up either as it is in water bodies or as a material for landfills. This practice of getting rid of garbage had taken the lives of many land and water animals. The great plastic garbage patch over the pacific ocean had put many aquatic animals on the verge of extinction. Moreover, burning releases harmful chemicals and gases that can even choke a person. It is irrefutable that the environmental damages caused by plastic are severe and often extreme. In order to manage the problem, the government should lay down rules and regulations that every citizen must abide by. To start with, prohibiting single-use plastics such as bags, bottles or spoons can reduce the waste generated. Furthermore, organizations must do more research in the field of utilizing renewable sources such as packaging materials made from sugarcane waste or banana leaves. Most importantly, individuals should exercise reuse and recycling of the products which can limit the demand for plastic. To sum up, there is no doubt that the problem of plastic pollution has become very huge. It is high time that governments should lay aggressive targets to mitigate this harmful component in everyday life. If one truly wants to save the planet earth, then one must stop using plastic products.