Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, public transportation in big cities has an important role to control traffic congestion and also reducing pollution in the city. Therefore, many people agree that the government should provide free tickets on public transportation, particularly in major cities. As far as I am concerned, there are both advantages and disadvantages and this essay will discuss both views regarding using public transportation for free. First of all, one of the first benefits of this situation is that the number of society who take public transportation would be increased significantly. This would mean that many communities would use public amenities such as buses and trains instead of a private car because it can save more money. In addition, this situation would enhance their economy or profitable to the citizens. Another benefit would be to tackle traffic congestion problems on the road and reduces the amount of pollution around the cities. For example, in Jakarta, the biggest population city in Indonesia, communities who live in Jakarta are more likely to use their own cars rather than public amenities, this causes Jakarta to become the highest amount of traffic jams occur and a polluted city compared to others. Implementing this policy in Jakarta would solve problems in the current situation. On the other hand, despite the advantages, there are also drawbacks for the ministry in implementing this policy. The authority would not gain a fund from citizens because of conducting free tickets. this would mean that the government can not improve the public transportation facilities because most of the income came from selling tickets, which to modify and upgrade the transport modes. To sum up, providing free tickets for the public indeed gives a lot of benefits. however, it may also cause financial problems for the government.