It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Life is full of uncertainty which is why it is necessary for individuals to take chances, both in their careers and at personal levels. In my opinion, it is ideal for the public to venture into risk-taking because it motivates and gives a sense of pride and accomplishment. Society cannot thrive without individuals going into dangerous tasks. Moreover, taking risks is an important aspect of life. This ìs motivating and pushes us to achieve things we never thought we could do and makes the world a more challenging and exciting place. For instance, it was the encouragement the renounced Neurosurgeon, Ben Carson got from his mother that he was able to succeed in his field of work. Being adventurous allows learning and growth in ways we may not have otherwise. In addition, it gives the feeling of attainment and fulfilment in life. For example, the time I was qualified as a medical doctor, I became satisfied, despite the years of toiling and burning mid-night- candles. This gives room for more passion to work harder and perhaps helps the nation to stay focused. Nevertheless, risk-taking has a negative effect. It could lead to depression and suicidal tendencies if one fails. If after putting effort and one cannot show anything tangible, it may probably affect mental health. For example,my Classmate in a tertiary institution who was withdrawn from school when he failed his examination, attempted to kill himself. Most populations are not mature in mind to handle failure, and when it happens, it might result in depressive moods and other mental issues. In conclusion, risk-taking is part of human attributes and it is motivating and gives a sense of fulfilment. It also has its drawback on the other hand.