Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to technological advancement, children nowadays have a wide variety of recreational choices. They can opt for books, television and video computer games. As far as children’s entertainment is concerned, children should spend time reading rather than being glued to the TV or computer games. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement. Even though the role of TV and computer games in improving children’s creativity is unquestionable, I still believe that books can do better. Undoubtedly, participating in role-playing games such as League of Legends allows adolescent players to make the most use of their creative thinking in order to defeat their opponents. Similarly, an animated TV series, for example, can enable the young audience to immerse themselves in an imaginative world where they can easily visualize the settings and be one of the characters. Nevertheless, reading books opens more opportunities for children to truly unleash their imagination since the sole means for them to interpret the writer’s messages is through words. Without assistance from moving pictures and sound like TV or video games, children have to use their mind to picture what is going on based on the description by the author. Also, it encourages them to dig deeper beyond the surface of texts to understand the hidden meanings of the written stories. In addition, the minor can enhance their vocabulary by reading books. It is because books consist of a far wider range of words, many of which are frequently used in an academic context. On the other hand, TV shows and games mostly employ conversational expressions that children are already familiar with and even use rather fluently on a daily basis. Hence, books have an apparent advantage over TV and computer games in preparing children for further education in the future. In conclusion, TV and computer games do contribute to children’s creative capability. However, reading is certainly a better choice. Aside from that, in terms of language skills, children can definitely benefit more from books. Based on these arguments, I firmly maintain my position that story reading has greater benefits for children’s development than watching TV or playing games on computers.