Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching tv or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Thanks to technological advancement, the young nowadays have a wide variety of recreational choices, among which the most popular are books, television, and video games. Some people opine they should read rather than be glued to the TV or computer games. From my perspective, I agree with this statement. Even though the role of TV and online games in improving children’s creativity is unquestionable, I still believe that story publications can do better. Undoubtedly, participating in role-playing games such as League of Legends allows adolescent players to make the most use of their creative thinking in order to defeat their opponents. Similarly, an animated TV series, for example, can enable the young audience to immerse themselves in an imaginative world where they can easily visualize the settings and be one of the characters. Nevertheless, reading books opens more opportunities for youngsters to truly unleash their imagination since the sole means for them to interpret the writer’s messages is through words. Without assistance from moving pictures and sound like TV or video games, younger ones have to use their mind to picture what is going on based on the description by the author. Also, it encourages them to dig deeper beyond the surface of texts to understand the hidden meanings of the written stories. In addition, minors can enhance their vocabulary by reading books. It is because books consist of a far more comprehensive range of words, many of which are frequently used in an academic context. On the other hand, television shows and games mostly employ conversational (= colloquial = idiomatic) expressions that children are already familiar with and even use rather fluently on a daily basis. Hence, books have an apparent advantage over TV and video games in preparing children for further education in the future. In conclusion, TV and digitized games do contribute to children’s creative capability. However, reading is certainly a better choice. Aside from that, young generations can benefit more from books in terms of language skills. Based on these arguments, I firmly maintain my position that story reading has greater positives for children’s development than watching TV or playing games on computers.