Should computer skills be considered as a part of the most important subjects besides reading, writing, maths?

It is very evident that maths, reading, and writing are essential subjects and constantly serve as it. In today's world, information technology is developed as a compulsory and crucial part of human lives, which is continuously upgrading. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of including technology as a subject in the curriculum. Undoubtedly, computers are being used by every person on daily basis. People are using it for communication, banking, study etc, and in doing so, basic knowledge of computers is required. In education, information technology plays a vital role; for example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, teachers were able to provide online classes to the students. These computer sessions not only saved students one year but also kept them in regular study as well as provided a common platform to talk with their peer group and fulfil physiological requirements. The computer could make study more interactive and advanced via connecting through the internet, so including it in the core study subjects would be beneficial for the students. Although IT is unreplaceable, however, adding it as a compulsory subject can generate some challenges also; for instance, constantly watching the monitor can be harmful to the eyesight. Additionally, people are already spending much time on the internet, which is affecting their social skills and could become more prominent. In conclusion, the world is constantly forwarding toward advancement, and by introducing technology, the future generation could be prepared for it. Some precautionary measures and awareness of the secure use of technology can turn it in favour of people.