Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this case ? It is a negative or positive development ?

Today, marriages are held on a larger scale and are more costly as compared to those marriages celebrated in the past. In my opinion, This trend is affected by several reasons and moreover, I believe that it has more negative development than positive development. To begin with, most marriages are taking place in the late 20s and early 30s. By that time, the couples are employed and considered financially independent having savings. They are eligible to get mortgages and financial institutions offer them loans to celebrate a wedding. Consequently, they can perform their luxurious wedding as per their desire. They tend to rent an expensive venue, invite numerous people, and buy expensive clothes, jewellery, flowers and gifts. Consequently, people are more financially settled when they tie their knots in comparison to their ancestors. Moreover, the influence of media is another factor in this large-scale wedding. They broadcast the details of the celebrities' extravagant marriages over the TV channels and publish their luxurious wedding ceremony in the newspaper. Consequently, youths and fan followers tend to follow their idols and desire a mammoth and lavish wedding. For instance, a number of families tend to destination weddings after watching the marriages of Bollywood actors such as Deepika and Ranvir Singh or Anushka and Virat Kohli. So, icons are influencers and youths generally try to pursue their lifestyles, especially the wedding ceremony. However, such an investment in marriage can pose mental stress for young married couples. As, a number of couples, who are not usually wealthy, may borrow large sums of money to fund their marriage on the contrary find that they are unable to repay. In the near,future a large wedding could lose its true value and result in deteriorated mental health. As a result, it divides society into socioeconomic status. In conclusion, I believe that financial independence at age of marriage and media influences encourage expensive weddings. However, it adversely impacts the family's mental health as well as the earth and our society.