We rely on the news for knowledge of the world, but we are unsure how far to trust journalists, what do you think? And discuss what are the important qualities journalists should have.

News has already become an inevitable, significant, and irreplaceable method to acquire information for individuals. In the following content, the reason why journalists are trustworthy and what a qualified journalist should do will be discussed. It is doubtless that fake news exists. Governments or capitalists might force medias or reporters to change what will be written. For instance, in the previous century, bosses of cigarette manufacturers provided money to the laboratories and masses to publish an experiment result that claimed smoke did not harm people’s physical health, while other reports or articles that contradicted the idea were prohibited or deleted for making sure that consumers did not know the truth. Moreover, to attract readers’ attention, many unethical journalists might also produce fake gossip of celebrities, so that they could bring more revenue to their companies and be promoted. However, news is the only source that can be justified. For instance, in China, news publishers such as Tencent, are all under the supervision of the government. If a journalist made up some negative and fake reports, this person with the corporation behind him or her would definitely be forced to pay fine and even face some penalties like being put in the jail. Besides, there are also many journalists who are brave to tell everything they see. For example, under the threat of death, numerous journalists continued to report the drug deals in southwestern China in 2000s. To be a journalist, there are plenty qualities that the person is required to obtain. First, similar to those who reported drug trades in 2000s, a journalist should be brave enough to face the pressure that prevent them from reaching the truth. In addition, honesty is also of great importance. Only if the reports or articles reflect and illustrate what exactly happens in an event, the person who writes them can be recognized as a good journalist. In conclusion, although many news is fake, still, since news is the only justified source of information which under the supervision and the writers who publish what they experience occur, news is generally trustworthy. Standards of judging a journalist are courage and honesty.