The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is acknowledged that goods productions are harming the environment. In my opinion, there are several factors that stem from this and the best measure is through government initiatives. The cause of natural degradation is because of over-exploitation and the lack of waste treatment. First and foremost, in order to meet the fast-growing market demands, companies accordingly witness an increase in their labour forces and materials usage. Therefore, having IN SOME developing industries, more forests and oceans are being used up, leading to the depletion of minerals, thus detrimentally affecting both flora and fauna. Another reason is that manifold firms did not install a proper waste treatment system, hence toxicity DESTROYING the ecosystem. For instance, multitudinous cement manufacturing sites in my country Vietnam are yielding solid building blocks, which not only emit a prominent HUGE amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere but also leak many chemical wastes such as mercury, causing many wildlife to be intoxicated and died. Regarding the best action to tackle environmental problems, the authorities should impose heavy laws and launch mass media campaigns. With regards to the former, If the government officials were to implement harsh laws on restricting production waste misuse and carbon emission, more corporations would be more careful when they were yielding goods. In terms of the latter, advertising or hosting talk shows with influential figures about the negative effect of overproduction may raise individuals' awareness, thus preventing them from overbuying. In conclusion, it seems to me that the lack of waste treatment and over production are causing detrimental effects on the environment and governments should impose strict policy and launch campaigns to prevent this from happening.