Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or diagree?

There has been a heated debate on whether the increased sale of popular consumer goods depict the actual demand of the society or it is just the good advertisement that make it happen. People have varied opinion on the topic.I personally agree with the statement and will explain the basis of my beleifs in this essay. Some people would argue that people buy the products they need more for household. For example the purchase of cooking oil and bread etc reflect the increased dependency of people on these items. Same is the case with other washing and cleaning items like soaps and washing powder showing the reliance on these products.But if we dvel in this hypothesis, we would come to know that exponential sale of the daily use products is not just demand dependent.It has alot to do with the advertisement companies presenting the products to the masses in such a beautiful way that arouses desire to buy them at any cost. For example when advertising for the cooking oil, the picture of charming young lady using the oil for making delecoius food is shown to attract the common man into buying it irrespective of the amount of fat content contained in that particular oil.Most people don't donot read the composition rather just buy it because they had seen a very popular advertisement of that product. Similarly the scenes of beautiful models highlighting the reason of their charm being Change the form of the verb is show examples the use of specific cream or other beauty products gain attention of the people who start imagining themselves to be attractive or handsome after using these products, which may not happen in reality. Moreover advertisements can even help the sale of goods that are injurious to health For example cigerrette smoking is shown to be a habit of macho mans and pictures of the heroic tasks being done by those who smoke make the men to falsely beleif belief it to be helpful in work. On the contrary it causes various diseases including heart disease, lung and mouth cancer etc.Many of the the items glorified on TV are often required the least for day to day living. For example perfumes are not the necessary thing for survival but just to impress others as shown in media it becomes the important to buy thing. Whereas we hardly see any advertisement on foods like fruits, vegetebles,wheat and rice, so is the case with educational,religious or cultural advertisement. Finally what we see on tv or internet is quite different from what it actually is. For example many times, the clothes my wife bought on line were not of good quality than seen on the screen. In a nutshell the advertisement determine the sale of popular products that may not even be required by the society at large.