Living in large cities poses many problems for people. What are the problems? Should goverments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

Today in most large cities, people are facing many issues. In the era of urbanization, it is increasingly common that more and more people are moving to large cities. Due to this, cities become over-populated and more polluted which results in global warming. I believe that government should take measures to encourage people to live in smaller towns by development of smaller cities. The primary issue associated with the migration of people to urban cities are over population, increase in pollution tends to increase in global warming. In urban cities, inflated prices of properties are due to mass movement of people as per the density. Moreover, people majorly prefer their own vehicle to travel and avoid public transport wherein roads are already congested with limited panes which results into traffic jam. For instance, all metro cities are famous for its over-population, pollution, traffic jam. Also, middle-class/ upper middle-class people cannot afford a decent house in such cities and resides in slum areas due to overly priced property. In other words, urban cities are also majorly contributing to global warming because of over population. These issues can be reduced by government intervention by taking appropriate actions such as development of smaller towns in terms of better means of transport, improvement in infrastructure, encourage employment opportunities through industrialization, setting up of public projects, promote tourism and so on. The main reason of people migration to urban cities in search of employment, growth, better opportunities, lifestyle etc. If all such opportunities available in their own town/ cities, people will itself only reluctant to move into urban cities. For example: Majority of labourers migrated to Delhi are from UP or Bihar due to lack of opportunities in their own cities. I strongly believe that government should developed the smaller cities / towns through which people were encouraged to stay in smaller cities. In conclusion, migration of people to large cities plays a major role in increasing problems for people which tends to increase in pollution, over-population, increase in traffic jam, and inflated price of properties. Thus, it can be reduced by government intervention through industrialization, creating employment opportunities and providing better means of transportation and improvement in infrastructure.