Increasingly, people eat food from other parts of the world, rather than local food. What do you think is driving this trend? Is this a good or bad development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often claimed that there is an increasing trend of eating food from foreign countries among people. The reason for this scenario is that the prices of foreign food are generally cheaper than that of the local foods, especially in some developing countries. This is a positive development as it benefits the disadvantaged and the fresh graduates. The prices of food that come from other countries are more affordable when compared to local food. In some developing countries, due to the high labour costs, local food’s prices are always extremely expensive even to the people from middle-classes. In Hong Kong, for instance, eating dim sum is rather costly, due to the sophisticated hand-made processes, when compared to that of the foreign restaurants such as McDonalds or KFC, which normally use machines to make it. As a result, more people may prefer foreign foods rather than local food in order to lower their daily expenses. This is a positive development because this phenomenon can bring advantages to the under-privileged. Most of the citizens, especially people from poor families, are not able to afford the high prices of local food. By importing low-priced foods from other countries, they are able to save the costs of food and allocate more resources on their personal development or the educational costs of their offspring, contributing to the economy of a country. In conclusion, this trend of eating food from foreign countries is driven by its lower costs and this is a positive development as it brings benefit to the poor.