Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, the number of people who travel or emigrate to other countries has increased. However, there has been a debate that whether those people will encounter some problems if they do not familiar with the language of the country. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this issue and give my opinions at the end of the essay. On the one hand, people who like to live in a foreign country might think that languages are not a big problem for them to communicate with others. For example, if they don’t know about the language of the country they live in, they can use body language and English to deal with it, because English is the international language, and almost every country would understand it. Furthermore, they think as long as they stay in a foreign country for a period of time, they will learn how to say its language naturally. On the other hand, people who are not accustomed to living in other countries might think it is difficult to interact with foreigners because English is not a common language in some countries. For instance, if you want to buy something in the supermarket or ask for directions from others, you will have some trouble. In addition, some foreigners might discriminate against people who are not native speakers. For example, if you are a foreign student, you may be ostracized by your classmates. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, if you want to study abroad or have a long-term trip to a foreign country, it is better for you to learn the language of the country you want to go to in advance. In this way, it can help you to deal with any unexpected problems.