In some countries old people who retire from work spend the money on themselves (e.g. holidays) rather than save money for their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

In many societies, elderly people rarely make a purchase in order to save money and support their children. In my opinion, the elderly are supposed to spend money on their own, and this development can benefit societies and individuals in many positive ways. First of all, elderly people are expected to make various purchases, such as shopping and travelling, instead of saving their money in the bank, because it can absolutely contribute to the economy. As the population became increasingly ageing, the proportion of old people, who tend to live a low-expenses lifestyle, increases as well, In the circumstances, the economy will suffer. Therefore, old people should be encouraged to spend the money if necessary. Secondly, investment in improving the standard of retirement life can benefit elderly residents in a positive way. For example, old people can spend their money on getting better conditions of living and health care, this can help them lead a decent retirement lifestyle and reduce the burden on young adults in the family. As a result, the whole society can benefit from this development, due to the decline in investment in taking care of these retired people. Lastly, elderly people spending the money on their own rather than leaving it to their children can help young people get away from the reliance on the financial support of their parents. In many societies, due to the rapidly increasing cost of living, many young adults are not able to afford all expenses and used to get money from their family instead of working hard to pay for everything. For instance, in China, many parents tend to prepare the money in advance to pay for the apartment when their children get married. In conclusion, the development that old people spend their money on themselves to lead a better life can definitely benefit individuals and societies in many positive ways. They should be encouraged to do this.