A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It seems to define a person's worth by judging people according to their social statys and material possessions nowadays. People tend to ignore the old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust in these days. As my observation in marriage issue, I sadly agree with this opinion. People are likely to pursue the power in society and the material possessions because this kind of stuff is able to be valued. People can compare with each other and feel self- fullfillment by looking down others who do not have same posessions. In order to make others jealous, people tend to date with the person who has higher social status or famous credit. By showing off the higher position they obtained, people complete their vanity and beome not really care about the personality of their mate. In gradual, it seems no longer important to have honour, kindeness and trust. However, the old-fashioned values are still vital charateristic as a person in my opinion. People with honour, kindeness and trust, are likely to make a success in any field. Cause the guy is kind, likes to trust people, and also attempts to win the honour, he may get more chance to win more social status and material possessions by himself. Not by getting married with others, but striving the position on his/her own. It's more permanent and pratical way to reach higher social status. In conclusion, it is important to keep old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust in mind. To judge the worth of a person, not only concern about how much material possessions or social power he has, but try to admire the personality he has.