Some people believe that you should strictly control your children’s behaviour, while some others believe children should be free to choose their behaviour. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Parents, nowadays, are spending a lot of money to teach their offspring great etiquette and manners. While some people believe that adolescents' behaviour must be monitored on a daily basis, others argue that this can pose some challenges to their mental health in general. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument, while I support the latter opinion. On the first hand, a lot of people, who argue that children's code of conduct should be controlled by their parents or guardians, might say that this enables teenagers to develop a strong conscience, being able to tell what is right and wrong. The reason for this is that parents must monitor their offspring's behaviour since this will teach them manners and etiquette. For example, school-going teenagers in my country, India, are usually rewarded for their attitude and code of conduct. In contrast, if these students are not monitored on a regular basis, then they might become a bad influence on the adolescents surrounding them. On the other hand, I would argue that their behaviours should not be monitored. It is because of fact that this will enable them to develop their own opinions and thoughts without any pressure from guardians or parents. To illustrate this point, a child can learn in abundance in school provided that there is no pressure on him on how to behave each and every second of the day. On the contrary, if school-going children are measured every single day for their behaviour, many of them might become timid and emotionally weak in fear of fulfilling the criteria proposed by their well-wishers. In conclusion, while rewarding children for their apt behaviour can compel them to become obeying children, some might become emotionally inept because of continuous monitoring. I think that students should be allowed to choose their behaviour freely.