Should arts-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge apply for admittance? Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

There is a debate about whether the places like museums and art galleries which provide entertainment for people should be given free entrance or not. In my opinion, it should charge a reasonable fee for admission and this essay will discuss the justifications for my view. Firstly, maintaining a venue is not an easy task and it has many maintenance costs such as electricity, water, and cleaning. All these items get billed by the relevant authorities and need to be settled on a time for uninterrupted service. Hence, there must be a way to earn money to pay bills and so collecting a reasonable amount for admission would help to maintain the place nice and clean. Secondly, to run the place it is required to keep dedicated staff as well. Therefore, staff salaries also need to be settled and substantial income is required for this. Finally, some items displayed in these museums and art galleries are required to be paid a royalty fee. Hence, a regular income is critical to smoothly manage a high valued aesthetic entertainment place. Paying a very nominal fee like $5 per person to entrance won't be an issue for a visitor who would like to enjoy fine arts or historically valued items. It gives an extra value to the items inside when the entry is valued and only the people who have real enthusiasm will enter the premises. To conclude, in my view it is always best to charge a small fee for the entry and use that collection to maintain the place instead of using taxpayer money to maintain a public entertainment place. It is fair for the taxpayer as well as the museum visitor.