Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental probles. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary epoch, the environmental problem has been a major worry for folks as it calls for concerted efforts in order to reduce the crisis we face in our environment today. In view of this, there is an ongoing discussion that discusses plants and animals, some people say the environmental crisis is a result of the loss of plants and animals while others say there are more trivial issues. This essay would take an exhaustive look at the said points in the paragraphs below while I conclude with my own opinion. To begin with, the loss of particular plants and animals is the cause of some issues we face in our environment. This is because they have impacts they made during the cause of their existence and since they went extinct, no other specie can cover the missing space. For example, the dragons are said to be myths but they made several impacts on planet earth and since their,extinction no other animal can fulfil their obligations. Invariably, the loss of animals and plants has contributed to environmental matters arising. On the other hand, there are other problems caused by man and other species which have awakened issues in our environment. Going forward, the amount of research, exploration, scientific tests and several other things carried out on planet earth is another deficiency we are facing. For instance, pollution caused by oil and gas companies while they refine their crude has led to water and air pollution causing severe problems in several parts of the world. A very good example of this is the southern part of Nigeria, many of these ongoing problems have affected the environment causing deaths of fish and other living things. Undoubtedly, there are many issues in the environment caused by man which is very important. In a nutshell, environmental problems are caused by the loss of several species such as plants and animals and they are other problems that are man-made too. Conversely, the problems are not one-sided as "it is a two-way street", the loss of species has emanated from some of them as well as other important issues that are man-made.