Some people say that the main environmental problems of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals.others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is said by some individuals that the major environmental issue we currently face is the loss of specific plant species and mammals, while others think that there are other essential problems in our surroundings. Although both are factual, however I am of the opinion that other crucial problems such as increased global pollution and global warming pose more dangerous problems to the human habitat. To begin with, when there is the extinction of plants and animals, this causes problems as there will be limited means of revenue and knowledge. These problems are caused by human activities such as frequent deforestation and hunting, thereby, leading to the unavailability of limited types of plants and animals. For instance, animals such as dinosaurs, which are no more in existence would have been useful for both research and tourism if they were still available. However, there are major problems which are causing a greater negative impact on the world's environment, these include, global warming and environmental contamination. As carbon dioxide traps heat from the sun, it causes an increase in global temperature. When this happens, there will be melting of the polar ice caps, which in turn leads to sea level rise and more extreme weather conditions. Moreover, due to the surge in the world's population and advances in technology, there is an increase in waste production, smoke and fumes, which are related to industrial activities and the high use of machinery such as vehicles. All of these lead to serious environmental pollution, hence, posing a great risk to human health. To conclude, even though the non-existence of particular flowers, trees and animals are risks to the world's habitat. I believe that contamination of the natural environment with harmful substances and heating of the atmospheric temperature is more intense problems to the world's surroundings.