Some countries spend a lot of money on making it easier to use bicycles in cities, why? Is this the best way to solve traffic problems?

It is common for many governments to invest in promoting cycling and related infrastructure to reduce the use of cars and motorcycles in cities. Although this can help improve the bad situation of traffic to some extent, I don't think this is a perfect solution and these also many steps can be taken by authorities. On one hand, travelling by bicycle is not conducive and available for everyone in cities and it requires continuous maintenance and investment. To start with, due to the long distance and time consumption of commuting, it is obviously inconvenient for everyone to go to work by bike on a daily basis. For example, with the development of urbanization, an increasing number of citizens move out to the countryside, it is definitely impossible for them to travel to the city centre by bicycles on high roads or expressways. Furthermore, public facilities, such as cycling lane and sharing bicycles, requires financial support from governments on time, or a lack of maintenance or management could cause cycling unavailable. On the other hand, governments can take other more effective steps to handle traffic problems, such as introducing strict laws and improving public transport. Firstly, the most efficient solution is to set a maximum consumption of gas for private vehicles on a weekly or monthly basis. Secondly, another measure is to charge extra money when travellers drive on their own within urban areas, in order to encourage them to share their cars with their colleagues or friends. These methods above can dramatically reduce the number of cars in cities. Finally, improvement and development of public transport are necessary, because it can provide more travelling options for these residents who choose alternative ways. In conclusion, riding bicycles is a good way to reduce the use of private cars, however, I don't think it is the best way to handle traffic problems, because it has many drawbacks and is not available for everyone. At the same time, there are many other actions which can be taken to deal with this issue.