Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of their fear of crime. Some people believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crime, but others feel that little can be done. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Insecurities and crimes have become a major menace of globalisation; people are now scared to leave their homes. While some individuals believed that more actions need to be taken to curb crimes, others argued that there is little to be done. In my own opinion, I think more actions can be done to reduce crime rates To begin with, security should be everyone's responsibility. One needs to be vigilant about their environment to note any unusual changes. For instance, a major robbery was halted in my neighbourhood by the observation skill of a fellow occupant of the estate where I reside, who notice a stranger lurking around a particular house and noted times when the house was empty. Also, the use of security agents could be encouraged. Several security operatives may be hired to enforce law and order and note any suspicious movements. It is true that despite the security agents available, crime is still on the rise. This is believed to be due to the rise in the unemployment rate which has made some people turn to crime as a means of survival. Moreso, unsolicited gatherings can not be regulated due to human rights. It has been proven that those involved in major national insecurity started as an innocent group of people who became armed for a different purpose. For instance, Boko-Haram was a secluded sect of Muslims who believed Western education was bad; they are now known to be terrorists after being armed by politicians for political purposes. Nevertheless, strict security regulations can help curb crimes by the use of curfews or trained security animals such as dogs. These would make anyone caught violating these regulations be subjected to sanctions or persecutions. In summary, more actions can be done to curb insecurity by each person being responsible to note unusual changes as well as through the use of security agencies and regulations.