Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some says that the construction on railway system should be invested more than roads by the government. I partially agree with this idea. With the truth that railway is on behalf of public transportation, the more public transportation was built the less pollution will be made by traffic. However, road construction also brings positive side to the community. On one hand, it is definitely a truth that the more public transportation is used by citizens, the less of air pollution, traffic problem, and carbon dioxide emission would cause. Furthermore, we can see that almost every government around the world encourages resident to make maximum use of train, subway or metro system in order to reduce traffic problem during the rush hour. Also, the fuel consumption is going to be more effective when we take train rather than car. The advantages from the public transportation are undoubtful. On the other hand, railway system can only take care of some satellite cities around urban area, which means it is almost impossible to make an enormous investment on countryside to build such heavy construction. Therefore, road construction in rural areas is served same value regarding to the railway. Besides, as we can see some severe weather events or earthquake make the railway system totally unrepairable. In order to maintain the lifeline of citizens, investment on road construction should also be needed. To sum up, I believe railway system plays a vital role to urban area, but road construction should not be overlooked. It depends on areas which traffic solutions are more suitable.