Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

Majority of society believes that learning English at school is more crucial than learning mother tongue language. However, if children are not taught native language it could easily be in danger to extinct. I believe, studying English for everyone is equally important as ensuring the existence of mother tongue language. In the essay I will give reasons and expand my opinion. First of all, English is one of the most spoken language worldwide, thus it is important to study it for everyone from the childhood. From individual benefits side, being able to speak English opens an opportunity window to different career possibilities as bilingual person will be more valuable for an employer. Moreover, it makes think broader and see bigger picture, for example, watching national news or reading scientific articles makes person a world citizen. From the economical side, more people will be employed in international companies, thus the sales, marketing and communication procedures will operate quicker and smoother. On the other hand, focusing only on English language can make a negative impact on local language ’s extinction. If people stop nourishing their own language it is possible to loose part of a culture. Therefore, it is important to safe mother tongue language as part of society identity, which is an integral part of history. Children, as well as aldults can be taught the importance and benefits of knowing their local language. There are many ways of doing this, as reading classical native books, watching local movies or travelling to rural areas where only native speakers live. Moreover, singing national songs and volunteering in local organizations which seek to safe the local language can be a valuable practise, as well. To summarise, in my opinion everyone should learn English as it is the most popular spoken language in the world and it gives a bunch of possibilites for those who can communicate in this language. However, it is crucial to not forget your roots and ceate added value for local language survival by being an active supporter of local organisations and a fan of native writers and creators