these days much of the foods people eat gets transported from farms that are thousannds of miles away. some people believe that it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consume food produced by local farmers. would the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is being observed that an increasing amount of food which is used by individuals,is transported from other places in the country that is so far. Some opine it is more beneficial for the environment and economy if people purchase their daily consumption among the farms which are in their areas. This essay will outline my stand as to why I believe the drawbacks of this practice outweigh the benefits. One of the many economical disadvantages is a limitation in purchasing. What I mean by this is that when you decide to buy your food from local farms, you have fewer choices for selecting the items, whereas you may have a wide range of selections when you buy the foods which are transported from other spots. For example in Iran,in many local shops,there are a few items which people can buy. As a result, you can not afford the majority of your needs. Another disadvantage of this practice is a drop in quality.As more people use local products, local farmers have more safety about their income. Indeed after a while,they do not produce high- quality items because they are sure that have their exact customers.Take Kish island as an example. Because of limited connection channels,the items are sold at higher prices and of the same quality in comparison with other cities. Subsequently, the prices do not change while the quality has declined. On the other hand, there are several merits to this trend for the environment. Looking more closely moving the foods to other places can cause more usage of fossil fuels which are limited and harmful to Earth. With an increasing trend in using fuels, global warming is experiencing an upward trend in the last decades. Consequently, transferring foods to other destinations can make this trend faster. In conclusion, to reiterate I completely believe that the demerits of this statement which are limitations in purchasing and the quality dropping outnumber the merits. Should people make a balance to choose between local food and foods from other areas, the whole trend would be beneficial for the economy and the environment.