Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

Many have the opinion that unpaid community service should be an obligatory part of high school programmes. I strongly agree with this sentiment and will discuss why I believe Volunteering helps develop essential skills and qualities as well as aiding students in university applications. The benefit of participating in activities like charity, teaching and neighbourhood improvement schemes is that it allows individuals to learn important soft skills like teamwork, communication and problem-solving. As a result, individuals will leave high school as well-rounded people who are more equipped for the working world. In addition, students exposed to volunteering in old people's homes and homeless shelters will also develop qualities like empathy and compassion from seeing how fortunate they are in comparison to the people they have the opportunity to help. They will have higher levels of emotional intelligence as a consequence. However, a teenager can also acquire soft skills while working a part-time job which, will enable them to have increased exposure as well as, allow them to earn money at the same time. Another huge positive attached to doing community service on a more personal level, is the considerable advantage it brings when applying for university. In the current climate, applying to university can be a considerable feat. Many students already have high grades and part-take in extracurricular sports and clubs. Having this experience, in addition, will set students apart from everyone else and put them in a better position to be accepted to their chosen educational establishment. For example Add aย comma,example show examples a study, done by Washington university in 2018, showed that 9 out of 10 students accepted to Washington university possessed previous voluntary experience. In conclusion, I agree that unpaid community service should be an essential part of the high school curriculum. It equips students with both the skills and qualities needed to succeed as adults and gives them the upper hand when applying to university in the future.