1. Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that governments should allocate more funds towards schools and education than, towards sports and leisure. This essay agrees that the government should invest more capital towards education due to firstly, education being a human right and secondarily, education being a gateway to increased opportunities for an individual. The United nation’s declaration of human rights declares the right to an education, as an imperative right of every individual, irrespective of the social or economical status of that individual. It is the Governments duty and responsibility to ensure that the citizens of their country have access to education and are not having to forgo education because of impediments such as poverty. In countries like the United Kingdom, where education is entirely government funded, the literacy rate is 100%. Children are therefore able to access their human rights even if they are poor due to the government’s investment in their education. Although, sports and recreational activities build soft skills and encourage a more well-rounded personality they are not as essential as, gaining an education. Governments spending more money on education would also mean that every individual has increased opportunities in life which would result in the improvement of their quality of life in the long term. Sports and recreational activities, in contrast, would only have short-term beneficial impacts. This is particularly evident in the fact that on average, individuals in India who have received an education go forth to increase their family income from 10 dollars per month to 400 dollars per month. This increase in income also directly increases the family life expectancy from 45 years to 65 years. In conclusion, it is imperative that the government spend more money on education in a country than on sports and recreational activities. So that every individual receives their human right to education and is given the opportunity to change and improve the trajectory of their lives with it.