Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

There are a lot of discussions regarding how social networks like Facebook and Twitter influence the young generation. Some people suppose that the effect is only detrimental. The others claim there are more pros than cons. Both of these points will be reviewed in the scope of this essay. Let's review the negative aspect of social media. Firstly, The most glaring problem is that the young communicate less in person. This tendency has a devastating effect on their mental health. For example, there is a lot of research saying that the lack of in-person communication makes them more depressed. Secondly, there is a vast amount of bad content that is not supposed to be seen by children. Their behaviour becomes unpredictable and can be a cause of ruined lives. As for the positive moments, I would like to highlight two of them. The first one is that it is easy to communicate with friends and relatives who can be met often in person. Teenagers are able to speak with their grandparents that live in a different city or with their friends who live in different countries. The second one, teenagers can find useful information quickly not leaving their homes. It makes education more efficient and the students more potential. To sum up, there are a lot of minuses in social media, but, on the flip side, the pluses are also quite strong. I personally assume that the negativity on these social platforms cannot outweigh positivity.