One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays individuals can live more and their expectation of life is higher due to progress in medical technologies. This essay will outline my opinion as to why I believe the benefits of medical improvement outnumber the drawbacks. One of the many advantages is that people can enjoy more from their lives. What I mean by this is that when society benefits from high technologies in the medical domain, they have more years to spend with their families. For example, in the past, the average years of life were about 60,while this has reached around 75 in recent years. This is due to the improvements in the health field. Secondly, by improving health technologies, the majority of incurable or chronic diseases could be treated faster. For instance, many patients who had Cancer have been cured thanks to new strategies which have been discovered in recent years. Consequently, improvements in medical care can lead to a better life for the community. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to this practice. The main disadvantage for the society is a considerable increase in the old population. Indeed when the majority of people can access high-standard medical services, it would lead to growth in the old community. Take the developed countries as an example. They are facing a large number of people who are living in their elderly's years. This population needs a large number of investments in caring fields. As a result,the government has to expend more on caring for these people instead of developing the country. Subsequently, the paid taxes will be spent on social services while it can be expended on other areas like education. In conclusion, to reiterate I completely agree that the merits of improved medical care outweigh the demerits, because of a more enjoyable life and curing tough sicknesses. Should people accept the cost of the old population, the whole trend could be beneficial.