In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case ? Do you think this a positive or negative situation ?

Owning a property is considered one of the dreams for many adults all over the world, and in all cultures. Indeed, there are several reasons why people strive for purchasing houses over renting, whenever this is possible. In some cultures, such as, the Western culture, obtaining a private place is considered a sign of maturity and responsibility especially when planning to establish a family. Moreover, in other oriental cultures, in order for men to get married, they have to provide an owned dwelling to get accepted by the bride’s parents. Financial-wise, in my opinion, the diverse programs and facilities that the financial institutions like banks and mediators provide nowadays to finance your dream home, play an effective role in enticing the minds more toward the Real Estate market. For example, here in Australia individuals are allowed to access their superannuation saved for the retirement, and allocate a portion of the money as a deposit for a house or an apartment. Additionally, plans as well include paying on instalments and over a very long period of time, that can reach 20 or 30 years. Also, when comparing the renal costs with mortgages, there is almost no difference, hence, not much is saved when the decision is made in favour of leasing over buying. In my opinion, I see owning a house or an apartment as a positive status. No doubt, possessing a place to live at is not just a peace of mind. It is, also, a long-term investment. So, instead of spending money on rents, the income can be invested in a profitable asset that you can rent out, or even sell for a higher price and reap the rewards. In conclusion, purchasing a property is a very important goal for lots of people for multiple sensible reasons: however, if it’s done through a well-studied plan.